The Session

The Session

  • Moderator: Rev. Mary Ellen Waychoff, Temporary Supply Pastor
  • Clerk: Linda Johnson
  • Treasurer: Cely Campbell

The session is the governing body for the congregation. It is composed of those church members elected by the congregation to active service as ruling elders, together with the installed pastor (teaching elder or minister of word and sacrament). All members of the session are entitled to vote. The pastor is the moderator of the session, and the session cannot meet without the pastor or a designated moderator present. The session at FPC, Ardmore is comprised of nine ruling elders in three classes which serve three-year terms, one class rotating off each year and a new class being elected to replace those going off active service. The session elects the Clerk of Session and the Church Treasurer. The session has the responsibility for governing the congregation and guiding its witness to the sovereign activity of God in the world, so that the congregation is and becomes a community of faith, hope, love, and witness.

Most Recent Session Highlights:

Although there was not a quorum for any actions to be approved, those gathered shared their committee reports of activities coming up. The Treasurer’s report showed that giving is holding steady and that although utilities have been high over the summer, all other expenditures are within budget. The Congregational Life Committee will host the church picnic on Sunday October 8 at 5:30 on the east lawn. Meats and beverages will be provided, side dishes and desserts are needed by those attending.

There will be a silent auction of handmade items for this segment of the “Fall Fling”. In November at the Thanksgiving dinner there will be items to be auctioned off for baked goods and casseroles. These funds help finance all the giving projects that are undertaken throughout the year by the Mission and Outreach committee. Each month there is a guest speaker from a local non-profit. With better understanding of the needs of these groups in our community, the committee can make thoughtful decisions on donations throughout the year. Working on a new computer platform that the PCUSA has implemented, the PNC has been able to access new match possibilities. Please continue to keep the Pastor Nominating Committee in your thoughts and prayers as they continue their search for our next pastor. Encourage them whenever you see them. Elizabeth Klinger, Warren Gordon, Seth Coffey, James Griffin, Lorna Johnson, and Jimmie Wallis.

Until next time,
Linda Johnson
Clerk of Session